Department of Chemistry


Chemistry department was established in 1922, right from the day Lahore College for Women was founded. Graduate program was started in 1958 while B.Sc Honors (3 years), M.Sc. Chemistry and PhD programs were offered in 2003. Currently BS (4 years), MS (2 years) and Ph.D courses are being taught. Chemistry is the major discipline in LCWU, Lahore gradually progressing in, with higher education commission of Pakistan’s commitment to excellent education and contend for research in field of chemistry. It is great pride for the Department of Chemistry that a renowned researcher Prof. Dr. Bushra Naseem is working as the Chairperson Department of Chemistry. Department of Chemistry is one of the best departments of the University in which ten Ph.D, two MS and four visiting faculty members are serving in the fields of Physical, Organic, Inorganic, Analytical and Biochemistry. The Department of Chemistry endeavors to be a nationally recognized model for educating and preparing students to contribute and compete in the ever changing, technology centered modern world. To achieve this vision the department is committed to provide best educational environment by:

  • Frequent interactions between faculty and students
  • Independent thought
  • Collegial exchange of Ideas and high ethical standards
  • Use of modern educational technology in lectures and laboratory courses

However, our actual pride is our confident well educated and competent faculty and female students who occupy the best position in industry, medical, pharmaceutical, and academia as well as in the world.