Department of Physical Education


Netball Championship 2013

LCWU has organized Pakistan Women University Netball Championship from 17th December to 21 December 2013 at LCWU under the auspices of Higher Education Commission.This time Lahore College for Women University has got the honor to host the Netball Championship. Last year this honor was enjoyed by The University of Lahore.

Twelve team managers confirmed their participation in Net Ball Championship.The matches were played in Hockey Ground of LCWU.

Teams from the following universities will participate: LCWU, Punjab University, LUMS, Pishawar University, Shaheed Baynazir Bhutto Women University, Abdul Walikhan University, Government College Faislalbad, Sargodha University, Bahawalpur University, Kinnaird College, Veterinary University, Minhaj University.

Sports Day 2013

The annual Sports Day of Lahore College for Women University (LCWU), was held on Thursday March 21, 2013, in the university main ground. Begum Governor Punjab Sameera Mehmood was the chief guest.

About 3000 students from 20 departments of the university took part in different events like aerobics, obstacle, chaati race, gymnastic show, cycle race, agility race and tug of war. The race for university employees and musical chair for guests was also held before the prize distribution ceremony.

The ceremony started with the grand march past, intermediate and four facilities represented their contingents and took oath for their loyalty towards university. Dr. Sabiha Mansoor Vice Chancellor LCWU, chief guest and Director Sports Ms. Shahina Ishtiaq watched the march past on the stages. Begum Governor Punjab said that sports make students better human beings and it teaches sports persons, the spirit of competitiveness.

She further said that LCWU is made one of the finest sports nurseries for producing and grooming sports women for national teams besides, it is involving its students and faculty members in healthy sports activities. Further she congratulated all the participants for the grand sports day. Vice Chancellor Prof. Dr. Sabiha Mansoor presented a souvenir to Director Sports for her excellent performance during 26 years.

In 800 meters Bisma Afzal and Iqbal Bano got the first prize in 100 meters race. In 200 meters race, Iqbal Bano was the winner while Bisma stood second. Bisma Afzal was declared as the best athelite of the year. Dr. Sabiha Mansoor Vice Chancellor LCWU and chairperson Cricket Women wing Bushra Aitzaz gave away medals to winners of all the events.